Local Natives

There’s so much new stuff on my iPod I’m not sure what I want to share with you first!!  But these guys have pretty much become a staple in my music library:

These boys are the Local Natives….they currently are locals of the LA neighborhood Silver Lake.  Their harmonizing melodies gained them a lot of comparisons to Fleet Foxes at their SXSW debut.  I don’t like to do the “sound like” game a lot though….all I know is I have a major band crush.  Not only do I lust after them because their incredible sound, but they also have a kick-ass blog, which is written mostly by the bassist, Andy.  Someone in the band is also an amazing photographer.  The pictures accompanying the blog are awesome.  Boys that can sing, write, and take pictures? My heart just skipped a beat.

Their first album, Gorilla Manor is due to be released next month.  Listen to “Airplanes” below:

Leave a Reply

