Josie and the Pussycats

Not totally a television show, not really a commercial, but a little bit of both. I thought it was relevant. I watched this 2001 movie for the first time this past weekend, with lack of anything better to do…and kind of enjoyed it. I shouldn’t feel guilty about it, despite its poor ratings (‘rotten’ on Rotten Tomatoes, 5/10 stars on IMDB), because it does have some good actors, like Parker Posey and Alan Cumming (oh…and Tara Reid). But the point is, it’s a total exaggeration of the music industry and the use of advertising and brand placement, and I think there is some truth behind it. I mean, look at the blog entries we are doing here at MITN, all based on commercials and television shows on popular channels. The whole movie is pretty ridiculous, with the premise of a record label putting subliminal messages under music to get young people to buy certain products and to turn pretty much into a zombie army. Every scene had some sort of brand placement, with Target, Tide, and dozens of other logos thrown across backgrounds, which could be seen to emphasize this message or counteract it; I doubt that they didn’t get any money from the companies advertised in their movie.

I couldn’t help myself from liking the songs, including ‘3 Small Words’:

Catchy, right? I guess that’s what you need when you are hiding subliminal messages under the track. Hmmm. I think I am going to go have a Dunkin’ Donuts Coffee Coolata.

Oh, and I take that back, Josie was originally a cartoon series in the 1970’s. So that’s television.

Leave a Reply

