Dead Celebrities Sell?

who Overall, I’m a huge fan of British advertising.  Their ads are creative, witty, and sarcastic.  One ad from the UK I’m not a huge fan of is DDB London’s Volkswagen Golf GTI ad from 2005.

 

 

I like Mint Royale’s remastered version of “Singing in the Rain,” but I’m not a fan of Gene Kelly’s forced breakdancing.  It just appears unnatural and destroys a classic image.  I get the same repulsion when I see that Audrey Hepburn Gap ad.

Ad agencies, please stop using dead celebrities.  We love them for who they were.  Your use of them is not going to make us want to buy a new pair of pants.

Leave a Reply

