My Long-Lasting Band Obsession

I’m not sure if they are aware of this, but I am the future wife and homemaker of Brandon Summers and Benjamin Weikel. Yes, both at the same time. Don’t worry, we will get a king size bed. If you have no idea of what or who I am talking about, keep reading. I saw this duo in Washington D.C., last summer, and my life has changed for the better. Brandon’s vocals are mesmerizing, as are his harmonica skills. Benjamin is a rhythmic god on percussion, and I couldn’t take my eyes off either of them. Pretty sure I didn’t actually blink at all. What makes these guys even better: they are from Oregon. Everybody from Oregon is cool. They are under the Sub Pop label right now, and you should definitely check them out if you don’t already know who they are.

The Helio Sequence can be described as electronic indie-rock, but you really have to listen to understand. They formed in 1999, and have 4 albums and an EP out, the latest being Keep Your Eyes Ahead. Interesting fact: Brandon damaged his vocal cords before this album, and he had to relearn to sing, therefore changing their sound permanently. Nonetheless, they are amazing, and you should watch this music video. You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

