Revert! Revert!

As college graduation draws near, I like to lie on the floor in the fetal position, hugging a pillow, and dream of simpler times. Haley, I promise this relates to music and television.

So, while I am not a huge fan of nostalgia (“Hey, dude! Do you remember GUTS?!?!?! LOLZ AWESOME!”), right now I just have the need to go back to elementary school and remind you all about Kidsongs, which aired on PBS. I love PBS. It was also the only station I was allowed to watch. Ren and Stimpy were banned, not unlike those strange DVR commercials where the mom blocks the scary monster…if you have any idea of what I am talking about. So. There is one special episode called “I’d Like to Teach the World to Sing”, starring a large globe-man who takes us on a musical journey around the world. And it opened up my child eyes to both (stereotypical) world cultures and tunes. I distinctly remember trying to fashion a kilt for myself and performing “This Way and That Way”, and wanting to make pasta like the Italians.

If you want to see what I am talking about, watch this (and the rest on YouTube). I totally had a huge crush on the banana-tallier:

See? Absolutely magical.

The opening song, “I’d Like to Teach the World to Sing”, actually originated as a commercial jingle for Coca-Cola in 1971 and was recorded by the Hillside Singers. It reached #5 on the Billboard Contemporary Adult list, and is a top 100 single song in the UK.  The Hillside Singers did not even exist before the creation of the song; they were organized for the sole purpose of recording for the commercial. With the success of the single, the group decided to record a few albums, and recieved a golden disc.

I tried to find a good remake of it, but I’ll leave you with the one that started it all. Peace.

Leave a Reply

